Buy the Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Eureka
Located in: Essential Equipment, Tents
Backpacker Magazine says "the Solitaire is ideal for anyone who's a little too claustrophobic for a bivy but doesn't want the burden of a full-blown tent when hiking alone." It's an extremely lightweight 3-season solo tent with an efficient tunnel design and a sturdy fiberglass shock-corded frame.
Eureka has updated and improved its lightest and most compact solo tent, featuring pole pockets on one end and ring & pin assembly on the other. An added zipper in the center of the roof cloth for easy entry/exit.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(7), Durable(7), Easy to set up(9), Fly works well(8), Lightweight(11)
Best Uses:
Backpacking(9), Car camping(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(7), Casual/ recreational(3)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Survivalist / minimalist(9)
 
Excellent solo tent.
By Max the Hiker..Verified Reviewer from Boston Ma. on 4/23/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Waterproof, Windproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

Excellent tent for backpacking.With this tent solo means just that.Not alot of room for storing gear inside.The first thing I did after the inital setup was to tape the fiberglass poles to help prevent them from splintering.
Keeping the fly rolled in good weather is great for stargazing.This tent kept me dry during a 12 hour down pour while out on a 15 day hike in Northern Maine.
Best of all, This is a GREAT TENT for the price.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
proper use of assembly
By double 7Verified Purchaser from Brooksville,Fl on 8/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

My first setup wasn't that great. the poles broke. sent back to the outfitter and they replaced the poles. set the tent up again and found out why they broke. The first time I set it up I didn't seperate the gathering,meaning I had to struggle to put the pin in the rod at assembly. When I set it up the second time I spread the material in the section where the rods went thru. This made it easy for me to insert the pin at the end of the rod. Works beautiful everytime. Great tent if you assemble it properly. Maybe this information should be inserted in the instructions.

 
to flimsy to be useful
By GP from Oklahoma on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Car Camping
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

I was unable to use this tent because the fiberglass poles are defective. I set it up in my backyard and when I returned the next morning the smaller pole was broken.

 
Eureka Solitaire 1-person tent
By BartVerified Purchaser from Pocatello, Idaho on 6/23/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

I needed a 1-person tent to carry on my quad. [...] I'm 6'2" and I fit in this tent.

 
Quality tent for great price
By AustinVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 5/10/2010
Pros:
Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
Cons:
Collects Condensation, Difficult To Setup
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

Great tent! The only problem is that it's hard to get the poles into the pin and ring system because there is very high tension on the poles once it is fully set up. But that just contributes to the sturdiness of the tent. It's fairly small but what do you expect for a one-man 3 lbs. tent. While laying down there is still about 6 inches to a foot of extra space at your feet. since it's a little taller than a bivy you can't get on your knees so if u wanna change your clothes inside the tent, which is absolutely possible and a plus, you have to do it while laying flat or on your elbows. all around is a great tent, sets up easily and has a great view of the stars if you leave the rain fly off which i recommend.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tent for price!!!
By Marty RayVerified Purchaser from Winston Salem, NC on 4/28/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

I use it for backpacking, Mainly on the AT.
I love its light weight, and at 6' and 160lbs., it fits me perfect with a "little" room to spare. Also, it packs small if you lash the poles on the outside as someone previously mentioned. My favorite feature, other than price, is the fly folds back for stargazing on those beautiful nights where you just want to keep the bugs out.
I'm only average as far as being physically fit and getting in the front door is not a huge effort like some have said. Afterall, thats why they put another door on top. I am taping the poles, to avoid the splitting problem, but I havent had ANY problems so far.
Overall, I love it!!! Especially the PRICE!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Tent
By JustinVerified Purchaser from WV on 4/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Climbing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

I have used this tent a couple of times and it has been a breeze both times. Tent is very compact and lightweight. I was able to get it set up in about 2 1/2 minutes the second time around. Very solid construction and it offers quite a bit of room for such a small tent. I was able to put my 65 liter pack at my feet for the night without any issues.

 
Great Tent
By Rod from the UPVerified Purchaser from Battle Creek, MI on 1/28/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Car Camping
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

Sets up easy, pack size is small great for backpacking and saving on weight

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome
By mike bsa from richmond,va on 9/11/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

Awesome tent. I am in BSA and it is a great backpacking/hiking tent that is tough,sturdy,and lightweight.

 
Smaller poles defective
By KZRiderVerified Reviewer from Nashua NH on 8/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Poles break easily
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Car Camping, Hiking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

I plan to use for motorcycle trip. lightweight is good. Only bad thing so far is I set it up in the yard to practice and the smaller set of poles cracked and snapped off all on there own( i never entered the tent once. The fiberglass is way to inferior to perform as it should. Must not be adequate for wind.

 
great backpack tent
By pamdunn from carlsbad,ca on 8/22/2009
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent:

keep in mind this is REALLY a 1 person tent.
My dog couldn't even fit in it with ne.
Sturdy and the lightest tent I found.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.