Buy the Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Eureka
Located in: Essential Equipment, Tents
The Eureka Apex 2XT tent is a self-supporting, free-standing, 2-pole, rectangular dome tent. Two vestibules for maximum weather protection, and extra gear storage space. Two easy-entry, drop-down doors with zipper covers. Poke out vent on side wall increases air flow.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(11), Durable(11), Easy to set up(13), Fly works well(10), Lightweight(7)
Cons:
Condensation(4)
Best Uses:
Backpacking(13), Car camping(3), Climbing(3), Mountaineering(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(8), Casual/ recreational(5)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort driven(3), Survivalist / minimalist(10)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
3 season not winter
By old ScoutVerified Purchaser from Memphis, Tn. on 1/3/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy, Windproof
Cons:
Collects Condensation, Leaky
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Climbing, Mountaineering
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

I have used several of these and this is the first one to leak. I will seal and it will be fine. This is a great small tent. But it is cold when camping below 28 degrees F. or below.

 
Worked Great
By Scout DadVerified Purchaser from NJ on 12/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Worked great i used it on a Boy Scout trip with my son. It was Nov. in NJ and I was fine in the tent, the temp dropped to about 20 degrees.

 
I LOVE this tent!!!!!
By casey the venturerVerified Reviewer from FL on 11/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Very ventalated, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Backyard, Car Camping, Pretty much any camping
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

I love this tent! It is absolutely wonderful! normally, I would not go in my tent until I had to because it was so stuffy and hot. This tent allows for a slight breeze to come though, but not to much. I live in a very stormy area and it has stood up to countless storms. Also I like the look of it. I can always distinguish it from everyone else's tent =).

 
Great For Motorcycle Camping
By Kate the Biker from Groton, MA on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Cons:
Collects Condensation
Best Uses:
Motorcycle Camping
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

This is a great little tent for strapping to the back of your motorcycle to take off for a weekend, or a week. Small size means it fits in most decent-sized panniers, bright color means you can find it again in the campgrounds. Eureka really hit the nail on the head on the price-vs-features scale with this little thing. Tiny, but perfect for me and my gear. Two thumbs up.

 
Great Tent
By BortVerified Purchaser from Colorado Springs, CO on 7/22/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Waterproof, Windproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Car Camping
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Great tent. Camped in a rain/hail storm. No leaks, held up great. Little on the heavy side, but not too bad.

 
Dig it.
By Pujti from New Castle, PA on 7/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Nice tent. Perfect for two if, and only if, you use the vesibules for your gear. I like the vent on the rain fly. It allowed for good air flow and there was no condensation. Appreciate the two doors and two vestibules design. It's easy to access your pack on your side of the tent as opposed to crawling over your hiking partner and/or his/her sleeping bag. Simple set-up as well. Pleased with the purchase. This is my second Eureka! tent and would recommend the brand.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tent at a great Price!!
By PlayTimeMauiVerified Purchaser from Maui Hawaii on 6/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
Cons:
Bad door zipper design
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Climbing, Mountaineering
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

I like the new design .. The new rain fly door design works well and makes getting in and out much easier than the older one. The only real big grip I have is that with the new larger doors(witch are great) They have went with a two zipper door design. One for the top and one for only the bottom of the door. Getting them to close tight in the corner takes a bit more effort than I would like. Not that big of a deal really but why not just keep both zippers on one zipping plan with a nice rounded corner. That's the only really thing I don't like about this tent. Our second night in the tent we were at 10,000 feet in a heavy rain storm and air temp was approx. 45 degrees. We were warm comfortable and dry all night.This is a great tent , great price, amazing quality . Keeps you dry ,warm and doesn't weigh very much..That's an A++++ in my backpack..

Images shared by: PlayTimeMaui

Our nice little site

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail
 
Full Fly
By BKVerified Purchaser from Florida on 6/11/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up
Cons:
Poor Fly Design
Best Uses:
All purpose
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Good tent. I probably would have purchased the half fly tent had the full fly not been strongly suggested to me. I typically use a half fly and felt it offered a better solution in warmer weather compared to full fly. The full fly tent is constructed with more screening (on tops and sides) with non zip windows compared to half fly that gives you option to essentially zip and unzip side window screening. Full fly for colder weather makes sense....I'll probably end up buying a half fly tent as well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By MacVerified Reviewer from Cheshire, CT on 6/3/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

It took all of 5 minutes to set up. I'm an Assistant Scout Master and this is my second tent. First was a Coleman. It was comfortable

 
Using it to climb Mt. Washington
By Richard from Old Town, Maine on 5/25/2010
Pros:
Windproof
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Climbing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

The tent I purchased is just what I was looking for. I'll be using it when I climb Mt. Washington and the surrounding Presidential Range.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Eureaka Apex 2XT - Good Tent
By Eagle LukeVerified Purchaser from Nashville on 7/10/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
Cons:
Minimal Space for pack, Two person tent ONLY
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Hiking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Solid door is part of the rain fly.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Eureka Apex
By SbeardVerified Reviewer from Lexington,Ky on 4/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well
Cons:
Collects Condensation
Best Uses:
Backpacking, Beach, Car Camping, Hiking, Mountaineering
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

I used this tent during more than one ice storm. It simply works great. It picks wind like it's seminal, and holds ice just like waxing a car.The only thing their designers have is about short sheeting the fly on the foot end. If they would work out that design, like with Jake's corners or something , then I would say that this is one of the perfect tents.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get one roomy Eureka Apex 2XT
By nola2noogaVerified Purchaser from Chattanooga TN on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, No condensation for us, Sturdy, Waterproof
Cons:
Fiberglass poles
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

We found the vestibule roomy, fits gear boots,etc.the rain fly vents are awesome, no condensation in either tent we now have 4 Eureka tents 2 Apex 2xt tents. We go out 3 time a month on the Cumberland trail for 2-3 nights 20-60 degree temps. EZ fast set up. I am 6'5" and 270 the rest of the group range from 6'4" to 6'2" 150-190 lbs and we have room in this tent. [...]

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get one roomy Eureka Apex 2XT
By nola2noogaVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga TN on 3/25/2009
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, No condensation neat vent, Not too heavy, Sturdy, Under 2 min set up, Waterproof
Cons:
Fiberglass poles, Would like aluminum poles
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

Sunny Sports had 2 tents to us in less than 24 hours!! [...] I am 6'5" and 170lbs. We are HS Seniors and College students; hike Tennessee Cumberland Trail 3x a month if we can. 2-3 nighter. 2 can fit this tent my size tall and thin no problems. gear too. Great height split up the weight and go. Vestibules are roomy 4 boots, pack bring enough to make a floor there. Great little vents no condensation on fall nights or spring nights 14degree to 40degree. we have 3 of these tents and are looking to lighten to aluminum poles on the cheap. Apex 2XT offers a Great price not too heavy compared to higher $$ tents. Fast set up, Sturdy, no condensation, just fine for our treks. The Eureka people are EXCELLENT to talk to for Customer Service. We do not work for Eureka.

Images shared by: nola2nooga

Eureka Apex 2XT

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Small Vent Shown, far tent, Vestibule size seen

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice tent for the money
By Slack-jawed TroglodyteVerified Reviewer from CT on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof
Cons:
Collects Condensation
Best Uses:
Backpacking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Eureka Eureka Apex 2XT Tent with Fiberglass Poles:

I picked this up four years ago to replace a 20++ year old 2-3 man geodesic dome I wore out.

Pros:
Love the weight (lighter by 1/2), and with the dual vestibules it's almost as roomy as the former.
It has sloughed off downpours in gusty winds with nary a shudder.
Half the tent is mesh, lose the fly on warm, clear nights--viola, no 'skeeters and a view!

Cons:
Short of leaving one vestibule open, condensation remains problematic in low temps (~30's and colder) even with one man.
Fiberglass poles. Skinflint that I am, I got the 'glass when Aluminum used to be an option...there is the Pinnacle Pass, however. ;)

Overall, I am very pleased with the Apex 2XT.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.