Buy the Jansport Carson External Backpack on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Jansport Carson External Backpack image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Jansport
Located in: Essential Equipment, Packs
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(7), Easy to load(8), Good padding(5), Highly adjustable(6), Large capacity(6)
Best Uses:
Extended trips(7), Heavy loads(4), Light loads(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(6)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort driven(5), Survivalist / minimalist(3)
 
Good pack for a great price
By Wild BillVerified Purchaser from Fallbrook, CA on 2/1/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

For straight up trail hiking to get to campsites you can't beat it. It'll carry all that you'll need and the stuff your buddy with an internal frame pack can't fit in his!

 
EXCELLENT, PRACTICAL BACKPACK!
By Carol, mom to Scott!Verified Purchaser from Kent, Ohio on 12/30/2009
Pros:
Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

After much research and not knowing much about backpacks, I purchased this item for my son for Christmas. His main request was to find something lightweight and comfortable to take on overnight hikes. He LOVES this backpack and is anxious to use it in our National Parks. The size is perfect to hold his gear and the pack fits his thin frame extremely well. The price is one of the best parts of the purchase. [...]

 
Absolutely Fantastic !!!!!
By Troop 11Verified Purchaser from CT on 11/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

[...]

 
The Carson Rocks
By KevinVerified Reviewer from Kentucky on 11/18/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lifetime Warranty
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

This pack is highly adjustable, fits my torso, I'm 6'1" and has a large waist belt, about 54". It's easy to load via the top access or the front panel unzips for quick access to gear. Internal divider for your sleeping bag or whatever and pockets everywhere plus a hydration pocket. Jansport has updated the shoulder straps to remedy the failure problem mentioned in other reviews. My brother has cerebral paulsey and he and I go hiking and camping quite a bit so I needed a pack to carry all our gear and I can easily put 50-70lbs in this pack and it works well and is very comfortable at that weight. Oh don't forget the lifetime warranty!

 
Great Bag for the price
By TS from San Diego on 9/23/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

I don't know what the weight rating for this bag is but it held up very well on it's first trip with a lot of tools/gear (3 days, 15 miles, tough terrain). It feels a bit heavy but I like the construction so I will put up with it for the strength

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Biggest External Frame on the Market
By PhilipVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 3/5/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

I purchased this external frame bag in anticipation of Thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail class of 2010. I saw a few reviews of earlier models that had problems with the shoulder harnesses coming apart, but am happy to report that the new bag has solved all of that with metal attachments to the frame and reinforced stitching. I also took it to my seamstress and had her go over all the strap seams again anyway, so I am expecting it to be bulletproof now.

The straps and frame are also multi-adjustable and the entire system works well for carrying heavy loads. So far I have taken it out on two weekend shakedown runs fully loaded to test everything out in anticipation of my journey and experienced no problems whatsoever.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great external frame pack
By avgfanVerified Purchaser from Oklahoma on 12/4/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

The Jansport Carson is a great pack for the money. No other high quality brand gives you as much cubic inch capacity for so little cost. Like all externals, the Carson is best used for traditional backpacking on trails rather than for mountaineering or climbing, where balance is so important.

It should be noted that although the distance between the shoulder straps and hip belt can be adjusted to fit a wide range of torso lengths, the relatively narrow and compact frame may not fit those with a stocky build. Because of this characteristic, The Carson is great for slender folks and is perhaps, the best external made for women.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Jansport Carson External Backpack Review
By Scout DadVerified Purchaser from Gilroy, CA on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Light Loads, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jansport Jansport Carson External Backpack:

The pack was just what I expected at first. It appeared to be light but sturdy and well built. With only 42 pounds in the pack, it was not an extensive first use. However, at 1:30 in the morning while with my son's Boy Scout Troop, on a night hike, the left strap broke. The stiching came undone and in the dark, I had to try to patch it up. After much cursing and some improvised sewing, I sticked it up and got home. However, I was very upset and surprized.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.