Buy the High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: High Sierra
Located in: Essential Equipment, Packs
For day trips or long-term adventures, the High Sierra Sentinel 65 frame pack delivers on gear space without adding on the weight. Just 4.8 pounds and boasting 65 liters of main-compartment storage space, the Sentinel 65 features top and bottom pack access, a bottom sleeping bag compartment, a hydration-readydesign and plenty of accessories to hold gear like ice axes and hiking poles.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(14), Easy to load(10), Good padding(12), Good suspension(6), Highly adjustable(12)
Best Uses:
Day hikes(5), Extended trips(12), Heavy loads(5), Light loads(5), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(7), Casual adventurer(4)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort driven(10), Survivalist / minimalist(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Great value, great pack
By DamianVerified Reviewer from Phenix City, AL on 3/22/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I purchased this pack a little over a month ago and used it for the first time this past weekend. My friend and I went hiking/camping and the pack performed well. It has plenty of space to hold enough supplies for a 3-4 day trip (assuming you don't need a clean pair of jeans/shorts for EVERY day). I was able to pack everything I needed and still had room to spare. I haven't purchased a single person, lightweight tent yet, so I lashed the 3-4 person dome tent I own to the loops on the bottom, and it held up just fine. It is really adjustable and comfortable. The belt strap is a little generous (i have a 33in waist, and had to tighten it up quite a bit) but that was my only concern, which isn't really even a concern to me. Overall, it's an excellent pack at a great price. Buy it.

 
Great Pack
By VarnyVerified Reviewer from Pensacola, FL on 3/9/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Weekend Hikes, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I haven't used this pack in the field yet, but I am going on a trip next month with my Dad. He has a Kelty pack that he paid a little more for and is smaller than the 65. We both agreed that my pack has more features and appears to be better designed than his. They are both good bags, but this one seems to be a no brainer when it comes to bang for the buck. (I hope I feel the same after the field test, but I think I will) It has been mentioned before, but the only downside that I notice so far is the sleeping bag compartment. It is pretty small. I returned my cheaper sleeping bag and got a down bag because the first one wouldn't fit. Not a huge deal though, the down bag fits with room to spare. The bag is comfortable with lots of padding. Has plenty of pockets and loops for storage and every feature I was seeing in the more expensive bags.

 
Great pack...especially at this price
By RevJoeVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 1/31/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

This pack held a weekend's worth of stuff easily. I had a lot of room to work with. It's very adjustable, and well built. The waist belt has a lot of extra webbing...I'm guessing that it would fit a 50" waist with ease. I don't know how many hikers need a pack that large, but hey, it's there. I'm 6'2" 250 lbs. and it fits me great. If you're a bigger guy this pack should work for you.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best buy on a 65L internal frame
By thumpidaVerified Purchaser from Louisville, Ky on 11/4/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

Wish it had pockets on the belt. The media pocket on the shoulder strap is fairly worthless as i can tell. Neither my mp3 player or my phone fit in there. Anything i could get in there is a pain to remove. It also is too high on my chest to be functional, almost annoying its so close to my face. It is just velcro holding it on so it is easy to remove.straps have way of working themselves lose as you hike, mainly the waist. I would cut the excess of the waist belt as well. more than twice what i need and im a big guy. That said I am still very happy with my purchase and would recomend this product to anyone. In firsthand comparison with similar sized kelty and gregory packs i dont feel im missing out on anything. There may be Cheaper packs available, but everything I looked at was nowhere near the quality workmanship i see in this bag. After 3 days of hiking with 60 pounds on my back there were no broken zippers, ripped stitches, or torn fabric. Large buckles on the waist strap are strong and easy to operate even with thick gloves. 4/5 for design 5/5 for workmanship.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
it's pretty awesome
By sarahVerified Purchaser from Australia on 5/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

it's a great pack- nice and light, but big capacity. i recommended it to my friends

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By MattVerified Purchaser from Tacoma, WA on 4/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Light Loads, School, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I used this pack on a 6 day hike across the Olympic Nat'l Forrest. I had 78lbs of equipment, clothing, and food in the Backpack which handled the load pretty well. I was impressed by the whole pack; Durability, storage space, adjustments/padding, and weather proofing. All compartment zippers were strong and durable. The pack seams were strong and never an issue. The only adjustment that I have made is I won't carry over 60lbs in it. Though the pack is very strong; it was not made to go over 65lbs. All the way around this back-pack has been a great purchase!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good backpack for the money
By chicoVerified Purchaser from georgia on 4/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
The sleeping bag area is, To small
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Professional
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

i go backpacking every weekend, and i cam at least once a moth, the only problem i have was the sleeping comparment is ttttttttooooooooo small

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWSOME PACK!!!!!!
By StriderVerified Purchaser from Gainsville, FL on 3/17/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Zipper Snags
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I bought this pack so i could go on the Appalachian trail for six days. I put it through a lot of abuse, and it still held up great! I would not recommend this pack to smaller people (under 160 pounds). other than that, it's an all around great pack. Rain, snow, hot weather, Cold weather, this pack will take it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bag for the Sale Price!
By Hinkle the TrekkerVerified Reviewer from North Carolina on 12/16/2009
Pros:
Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

The waist belt is too large, and I have had a little trouble getting the pack to rest on my pack the right way. Otherwise, it's a great deal, and I would recommend it to anyone not needing to carry it for more that a few days max at a time. Very well built!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
good backpack
By t-rayVerified Reviewer from ohio on 4/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Large Capacity
Cons:
Hard to load
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

i used it on a weekly basis and its very comfortable
hard to pack though
i would buy it again

Images shared by: t-ray

camping

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pack
By eman from vermontville MI on 2/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

This is a great pack it holds all my gear and more its great for overnight to week long trips, wouldn't recommend it for a winter pack.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pack for a low price
By Alaskan PolarbearVerified Reviewer from Anchorage Ak on 1/25/2009
Pros:
Affordable, Comfortable, Easy To Load, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I searched everywhere for a lightweight bag that cost less than [$] Got this pack and have used it everywhere, holds the right amount of gear, and is light compared to most packs. The phone pocket is useless...as it should be, and it could use side pockets but it works great for a fantastic price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Bag
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Arlington VA on 1/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

This is by far the best bag that I have ever gotten. It has a huge capacity and all of the straps are very useful for adjustment. One thing though...you have to use a compression sack to get a normal size sleeping bag in the compartment. Very great bag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best price on the web
By Prepared momVerified Purchaser from Utah on 12/9/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

Bought to pack supplies for family emergency kit. Very nice lightweight pack. I like that it has a covered sleeping bag compartment and a quick and easy rain cover. Well padded shoulder and waist straps. I can't speak for actual field use.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product!!
By sandmanVerified Reviewer from Northern Neck of VA on 9/9/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Sentinel 65 Backpack:

I bought this pack for my son. I was able to easily adjust the pack to fit his small frame and there is ample room to adjust more as he grows. The only down-side to the fit is his waist (30") is at the small end of the waist belt adjustment, so he wasn't able to get a completely snug fit. He has used the pack on weekend hikes as well as week-long trips. The pack has enough capacity to hold all his gear and then some.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.