Buy the High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: High Sierra
Located in: Essential Equipment, Packs
Go higher and farther with the Hight Sierra Explorer 55 frame pack. Lightweight,rugged and roomy, it features a top-loading main compartment with 55 liters of storage space, top and bottom pack access, a bottom sleeping bag compartment, a hydration-ready design and plenty of accessories to hold gear like ice axes and hiking poles.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(8), Easy to load(8), Good padding(5), Highly adjustable(5), Lightweight(3)
Cons:
Heavy(3)
Best Uses:
Day hikes(3), Extended trips(6), Heavy loads(3), Light loads(5), Travel(4)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(4)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort driven(3), Survivalist / minimalist(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pack!
By GooberVerified Reviewer from Fort Bragg,NC/Naples,NY on 11/11/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

This pack is an awesome deal for the price.It has a very generous ammount of space aside from the sleeping bag compartment being slightly small.It has a pocket for a hydration bladder if you choose to use one,if not its good for seperating your smaller items from the main compartment.There are two mesh side pockets with an elastic band around the top that hold water bottles pretty secure,or you can use them for whatever smaller items you might want immediate access to if youre careful enough to make sure they arent going to fall out.The lid also has a pocket that has quite a bit of space,great for snacks,map and compass,rain gear etc...The pack has many adjsutments on it to taylor comfort to your needs.Being a minimalist and after packing my gear into the pack,i would say a week long trip could EASILY be done with this pack if you know how to pack stuff.The pack material is very strong and the seams are holding out well.The compression straps work very well,and the bottom straps can be loosened up to put a sleeping pad,tent or sleeping bag on the outside of your pack.There is also a strap that goes over the top of the pack (under the lid) that can be helpful in securing gear as well.The hip belt is a little on the large side,although at a 32 inch waist it tightens up enough for me.The rain cover fits over the pack great even when its packed to the hill!The only things i can say about this pack is the lid design is poor and moves around unless FULLY packed,the lid can be removed if you arent packing that much though so its not that big of a deal!The bag can shift around a bit due to the Ergo Fit adjustable suspension.After you secure the velcro strap,the harness can move around on the loops of the system allowing the pack to sway from side to side slightly.Overall an awesome deal for the money and a pack that seems will last a long time!If you are looking for a budget minded decent quality pack i highly suggest this one,if you want a smaller pack,they offer the Summit 45 pack which a friend of mine has that is virtually the same as this one,just without the Ergo Fit adjustment.

 
good bag
By jamz the adventurer from lansing,mi on 6/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Cool colors, Easy to handle, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Lightweight
Cons:
Could be a tad bigger
Best Uses:
Airplane flying, Extended Hikes, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Student
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

good bag. i would buy it again. i used it for a five day trip it worked well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Short trips, minimalists, and beginners
By AustinVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 5/10/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable
Cons:
Heavy, Small capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

I've used this twice for 2 day hikes and 3 day hikes. Although it is fairly small, it fits all my minimalist gear. Also it somewhat forces me to pack smaller and lighter which makes my pack lighter. One of the best features is the water bladder holder on the back outside of the pack which lets the nozzle out of the bottom. The double draw strings on the top give your main gear compartment the maximum protection from the elements. This pack is great for 3-4 day hikes. I'm 16 and would recommend this to anyone who is getting started and has a small budget such as mine.

 
good product
By Tao from Indianapolis, Indiana on 3/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

good product, spacy and durable, it gave me a good experience when i travel to argentina for two weeks. I will definitely use it when i travel to europe next month for whole month.

 
Great pack for the price
By traildogVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load
Cons:
Pack is very narrow
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

The pack is very narrow which makes the side water bottle pockets nearly impossible to reach with the pack on, but if you use a hydration bladder (which there is a pocket/sleeve for) you are good to go. All in all it is a great pack. You can't beat it for the price. Also comes with a sweet built in rain fly.

 
Great Bag
By BludogVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 1/29/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons:
Small for zero degree bag
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

This bag is great. A bit small for my wife. (She's 5'2" 128lb), but only becuase we couldn't get her 0 degree bag in the bag compartment. If you don't plan on winter camping, thus using a cooler bag or bivvy sack, this bag is perfect!! Very lightweight and comfortable. It has all the features bags twice the price at REI have. We moved up to the 65L Sentinel for her. I have the 90L Longtrail. All these bags have a lifetime warranty you cannot go wrong.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great backpack
By AnnieVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

This is a great backpack but I am returning it for the next larger size. Once I've put my sleeping bag in the lower compartment I found there wasn't enough room for my gear for an extended trip. Still a great item at an awesome price!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice weekend pack
By Ed the King of the CampgroundVerified Purchaser from Mechanicsville, VA on 12/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight, Well designed
Cons:
Not Enough Pockets
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Explorer 55 Backpack:

Great backpack. Has all the bells and whistles of the more expensive packs. My only complaint is that the sleeping bag compartment is too small (only 8" x 8" x 12"). It does have straps to fasten the sleeping bag to the bottom of the pack.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.