Buy the High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack on http://sunnysports.com Print This PagePrint This Page
High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack image
 
(based on 27 ratings)
Brand: High Sierra
Located in: Essential Equipment, Packs
If you're looking for a pack that won't hold you back, but don't want to leave those creature comforts behind, the Appalachian 75 delivers. With a whopping 75 liters of main-compartment storage space, tons of smart extras, and weighing in at just 5.8 pounds, the Appalachian 75 ensures youll have space to spare whetheryou're spending a week in the woods or a day on the peaks.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 27 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(27), Easy to load(25), Good padding(19), Good suspension(10), Highly adjustable(21)
Cons:
Heavy(3), Zipper snags(4)
Best Uses:
Day hikes(7), Extended trips(24), Heavy loads(18), Light loads(7), Travel(6)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(10), Casual/ recreational(7), Casual adventurer(7)
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort driven(14), Survivalist / minimalist(8)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Great "Backpacking" Backpack for Europe
By The Euro TrekkerVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 12/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Student
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I purchased this backpack for 2 months of backpacking through Europe and am very pleased with it. I look forward to using it on an upcoming trip to Thailand as well. I was looking for a backpack large enough to hold all my clothes (thicker, cold weather type clothes) and cosmetics/toiletries (a lot) and found this pack to be the perfect size to fit everything (including a pair of bulky rain boots), yet stay within the 20kg checked bag weight limit (unless you want to pay an oversize fee) of most budget European airlines. That is, the bag is big and holds a lot but is not so big it becomes too cumbersome. It's built well, the zippers don't seem to have a problem, and the rain cover comes in handy. To date I haven't experienced any negatives with the backpack.

 
Trail 75 Shines in the Grand canyon
By FlyinArmadilloVerified Reviewer from Jack County, Texas on 11/4/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

After a week in the grand canyon this pack worked flawlessly. I was carrying essentials for a group of 7 - and pack weight was 54.5 lbs - more than I would like to carry BUT the Appalacian 75 was comfortable as any pack could get, and handled the load without any problems. The pack in use is fairly clean of usless frills and I used every inch. The Front access panel is priceless and I appreciated the attached rain hood - it even covered my sleeping pad and cinched down securley. For the money - this is one great pack - tough sturdy and well balanced (if you pack correctly) as with any packs. The included cell phone folder velcro'd on - I can't find a use for and so removed. (phones don't work where I go !) If your waist is smaller than 32 inches - the hip belt might not cinch down tight enough for you, but otherwise is easily adjustable for height. You can't go wrong with this one -- it's GREAT !!

Images shared by: FlyinArmadillo

Loaded and ready to hit it.

Image Thumbnail
 
"A no brainer here"
By Hiking bugVerified Purchaser from NYC on 10/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

This pack was a no brainer- what a bargain with sunnysports. It will compete with packs in the $200 to $300 range. One of the nicest features was the rain cover- my first hike with the pack was in a noreaster and everything in the pack was dry.

 
Fantastic value
By Andy B from Ridgefield CT on 6/12/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I have now used this pack a couple of times, one of which was a weekend full backpacking trip on the Appalachian Trail in NY.
I am extremely happy with the pack. It has loads of pockets and useful features, and the straps allow for carrying gear on the outside as well as inside.
I carried a tent inside the pack on Day 1 and then slung it underneath on Day 2 when it was packed away wet.
The rain cover is particularly good - you can almost pull it out and over the sack whilst it is still on your back. The rest of my crew were very impressed by its strength and generous proportions.
I agree with some other reviews that the waistband could be a problem for the slimmer built hiker, and the straps are a little over generous.
All in all this pack is a steal at the price, and stands shoulder to shoulder with packs that cost 3 times as much.

 
Awesome for the price
By TheGoodStuffVerified Purchaser from Northern VA on 5/11/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Zipper Snags
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I've read before that the zipper snags and the lower compartment zipper does occasionally but its not really that bad, if you're careful you'll never notice it. Overall great back pack, very adjustable and versatile. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a pack this size and price was great too.

 
Good for price, survived lost coast.
By AndyVerified Purchaser from Walla Walla, WA on 4/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Large Capacity
Cons:
Heavy, Weak Seams, Zipper Snags
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Pack was decent, nothing spectacular. But for the price I doubt it can be beat. The material is what makes this bag delicate in my eyes. It just has a cheap feel to it, and the zippers feel a little brittle. So far so good though.

 
it's really nice for the price
By ClickVerified Purchaser from North Carolina on 4/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Large Capacity, Lightweight, Price Quality
Cons:
Not for small waist
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I really like the way it packs. There is plenty of room for everything you can carry and I have carried alot in mine and it's well made/dry...The only thing is if your waist isn't 36"/over do not buy. My waist is 32" and I can't tighten it anymore..It's great getting ready to hike the AT

 
Blows the Kelty coyote out of the water
By pushusonVerified Purchaser from Jefferson City, TN on 4/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

My freind and I went on a spring break hiking trip on the AT I used the the High Seirra 75 and my friend used a kelty coyote 75 the high seirra outperformed the kelty in every aspect. we even had to modify his back so that we could continue the hike. If your thinking about getting a pack for any length trip I would recommend the High seirra Appalachian 75.

Images shared by: pushuson

Not even watse deep snow could stop this pack

Image Thumbnail
 
AWESOME
By JazzyVerified Purchaser from Poconos PA on 2/24/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Great pack it has so much more room and is so much sturdier then i imagined!! great buy!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pack!
By EasterbunnyVerified Purchaser from Huntsville, AL on 2/24/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Great pack for the price plenty of room and comfortable.

 
Great Pack at a Great Price
By The MountaineerVerified Purchaser from West Virginia on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I searched for months, looking on the internet and trying on packs, for the right backpack at the right price. This one meets all my requirments. It has tons of space and easy access to all parts of storage. It is also one of the largest packs that will still fit my frame. 5' 9" and a 32" waist. Great Pack.

 
Good Pack
By ShanglesVerified Reviewer from Texarkana, TX on 2/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Zipper Snags
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I looked for about a year for a good pack for weekend Boy Scout camping trips. This was a good pack for a great price. I have used external packs in the past. This pack has more adjustments than you can shake a stick at. It may take three camping trips to fine tune it, but I would rather have the options. Many pockets and I really like the built-in rain cover. The bottom compartment is for your sleeping bag. It is a tight fit, even with a compression bag, and when you have that compartment maxed out the zipper is a pain to get opened and closed. All in all, I really don't think you will find a comparable pack for under $150.

 
Seems Perfect - Inexpensive!
By perryzipVerified Purchaser from Harrisburg, PA on 1/30/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Inexpensive, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Zipper Snags
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I've loaded it up once and it seems to be exactly what i was looking for. I've never agreed with paying the huge prices other gear companies demand and The High Sierra Appalachian 75 delivers a handy multi-day pack for a low low price. Lots of cool access & easy to load. The only "con" I've noticed is the zipper on the lower/sleeping bag compartment doesn't stick, but it's a bit stubborn. It'll probably break in quickly. I have 2 AT section hikes (WV/MD & NJ) planned for this season and this will be my pack. My black toe nails have grown back so it must be soon time to go backpacking! :-)

 
Great product
By rmcVerified Purchaser from Greensboro, NC on 1/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I love this pack. It has tons of room and its very adjustable and really comfortable. Glad I decided on this one.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Pack
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 12/27/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

just got this for Christmas. we haven't gone backpacking yet, but it looks good and i'm excited to start using it.

the only bad things, like most people say, is the waist strap. it's a little too big, both by the thickness of it, and the fact it doesnt tighten to a smaller waist (i'm a 32 waist). and sometimes the zippers are hard to move. but that is all the negatives about this pack. and i bought it, knowing this.

has more pockets than i thought, which is awesome. i just love everything about this pack and can't wait to use it, when i go to the NC Mtns. in May '10.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bag for the Price
By GreensVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 12/1/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I wouldn't call myself a pro hiker but after being in the ARMY for 5 plus years I totally understand the importance of a good pack. This pack has enough space for a few days worth of food and supplies, depending on how you pack. The only complaint I have is that the sleeping bag compartment doesn't open wide enough for my sleeping bag, but I do have a abnormally larger sleeping system.

This bag is not good for someone who is under 67inches and has a waist under 33inches. Make sure you measure properly when buying a pack, if not you will regret it!!

All in all it is a great pack and a GREAT price...

Images shared by: Greens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pack!!
By WVU Mountie FanVerified Reviewer from Huntington, WV on 9/23/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Took this pack on a trip to Dolly Sods, WV. Carried everything I needed with room to spare. Comfortable, but not for people much smaller than a 33 waist. I have to tighten the waist belt almost completely to the end to put the weight on my hips. I am 6'2" and have the adjustable straps to the top setting. the sleeping bag compartment holds a Eureka Casper +15 degree bag Long Size well. The front access to the bag is nice. Plenty of lashing straps and loops to hang carabiners on. Almost seems like there are too many adjustments when you get the bag, but after taking it on the trail I have found that the adjustability of the pack is what makes it so nice. I would recommend this pack to anyone. It is comfortable and worth every penny.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great
By dude from chambersburg pa on 7/9/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Not good for small waist
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

[...]a lot of people say that the zippers are poor but what they dont realize is that they can send it back and they will fix the problem for free! [...] lifetime warranty.Great!

 
Total Awesomeness
By AJVerified Reviewer from Ephraim, UT on 6/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Man when I got this thing I was really exited so I took it for a hike. What I can I say about this product? It is just awesome. I think it is a must buy because of the price and quality not to mention the great service of this web site!

 
Great Pack for any use!
By Dinosaur maxVerified Reviewer from Spartanburg, SC on 6/18/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Travel, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I bought the pack for a hiking trip but i use it almost every weekend for my camping adventures. It holds everything I need and more. The last time I used it my friends and I got stormed on and I was able to keep all my gear dry because it is so easy to load and the rain cover that comes out of the bottom. If you hike and camp often this pack is great and is worth every cent.

 
Great, comfortable pack
By Lazor from Ohio on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I'm no pro, but this is definitely a great pack from my experiences so far. It is very well made with durable fabric and solid seams- just picking it up you can tell it will last a while. Straps are infinitely adjustable- my friend on the trip was complaining the whole time about not being comfortable with his pack, but I was perfect. Only complaint is that the pack is long and narrow, so you end up stacking alot of the gear inside on top of itself, but the multiple pass-thru points still allow you access to it.

Highly recommended!

 
Load it up, it is easy to carry
By Punkin PunisherVerified Purchaser from Chesapeake, VA on 4/7/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I used this pack and it loaded with about 35 pounds of stuff. The pack was easily adjusted and was very comfortable. The best feature was how easy it is access your gear wether it is on top or bottom with the zippered front panel. Lots of straps and loops to hold your gear and water bottle pockets on the side as well as a place for a water reservior.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice pack at incredible price
By Once-in-a-while adventurerVerified Purchaser from Fort Collins, CO on 1/28/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Just bought the pack and used on a three-day winter camping trip in the Colorado State Forest. Room for all necessary gear and food. Comfortable and easy to adjust. Compression straps, load stabilizers, shoulder and hip belt all work well. I am only about 5'6" with about a 32" waist, and the pack fit great. Some people on our trip pulled a sled with their gear, I wore this pack on backcountry skis and the load (about 30 lbs) was easy to adjust. I am a very inexperienced skier so stability was important to me. I had no problems on relatively steep trails (both up and down). I have rented other packs to use on a few similar trips and this one is as good or better.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
High Sierra Backpack
By J.R. the HikerVerified Purchaser from Ohio on 1/5/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Comfort Driven
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

I'm very pleased with the backpack so far.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Almost perfect.
By The BeastMasterVerified Purchaser from Arizona on 12/4/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

The chest strap pops off! Cool slide that attatches it to the shoulder straps, but the design needs work. It kept poping off while i was hiking, I had about eighty pounds in it at the time though. Other than that its perfect. Although I would recomend the larger "long trail" pack because you can never have to much space.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't waist time check Sunnysports first
By RodVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA. on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

Your price can't be beat [...] I will always check Sunnysports site first.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Capacity seems just about right for me.
By HerbVerified Purchaser from Winchester, VA on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy To Load, Large Capacity, Lightweight
Cons:
Lower strap end unsewn
Best Uses:
Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
What Is Your Gear Style:
Minimalist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about High Sierra High Sierra Appalachian 75 Backpack:

It feels very comfortable and holds all of the stuff that I usually carry for 2-3 hiking/camping trips. I particularly like the 2 side pockets and the easy access to the inside of the pack without having to unload it from the top. I was disappointed to find that the end of one of the lower straps was not sewn into a seam on the bottom of the pack as it was supposed to have been and that it got thru quality control without being noticed. Since I don't usually strap things to the bottom of my pack, it shouldn't be a problem.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Sunny Sports All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.